- The Passing Score at a Glance
- Two Portions, Two Separate Thresholds
- What 80 Out of 100 Means in Practice
- Where the Points Live: Domain Weights
- The Practical Portion and What Is Not Published
- Why No Pass Rate Appears Here
- Sequencing Your Prep Around the Weights
- Exam-Day Rules That Protect Your Score
- Fees, Retakes, and the Cost of Missing the Mark
- The Lower Renewal Threshold
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Part 1 is 100 multiple-choice questions in 120 minutes, closed book, and you need 80 correct (80%).
- Certification requires 80% on each portion; the written and practical parts are scored separately.
- Testing System and System Components carries 36% of the written exam, the single largest domain.
- Renewal uses a lower bar: 30 of 40 correct (75%) on a proctored open-book exam.
The Passing Score at a Glance
If you are preparing for the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 qualification, the first number to memorize is simple: 80%. The written examination, which NITC (the National Inspection, Testing and Certification Corporation) administers against the ASSE 6030 qualification standard, consists of 100 multiple-choice questions. You have 120 minutes, the exam is closed book, and a passing result means answering 80 questions correctly.
That sounds straightforward, but the details matter. The scored versus unscored split is not stated in the published bulletin, so you should plan as though every question counts. There is no published partial-credit scheme and no curve described in the official materials. Eighty correct answers is the line, and the wording of the bulletin treats that line as fixed.
| Element | Part 1 (Written) | Renewal Exam |
|---|---|---|
| Format | Multiple choice | Proctored, open book |
| Questions | 100 | 40 |
| Time allowed | 120 minutes | 2 hours |
| Passing score | 80 correct (80%) | 30 correct (75%) |
| Reference access | Closed book | Open book |
For a broader look at how demanding that threshold feels once you are sitting in front of the questions, see our guide on how hard the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 exam really is.
Two Portions, Two Separate Thresholds
Many candidates focus entirely on the written test and are surprised to learn that full certification also includes a Part 2 open-book practical examination. In the practical portion, you work from supplied schematics of Category 1 medical-gas and vacuum distribution and source equipment. The live NITC certification page states that you must reach 80% on each portion. A strong written score does not carry a weak practical result, and the reverse is equally true.
The current bulletin does not publish the practical portion's item count or time limit. Older copies of the candidate bulletin that circulate online describe a different practical format, but those details are absent from the current July 2026 bulletin and should not be treated as current. Because of that gap, this article makes no claim about a combined total number of questions across both portions. What you can rely on is the threshold: 80% on Part 1 and 80% on Part 2.
What 80 Out of 100 Means in Practice
Because the written exam has 100 questions and the pass mark is 80 correct, you can miss at most 20 questions and still pass. That margin is generous in absolute terms but narrower than it appears, because medical gas verification questions often hinge on a single detail: a pressure value, a test sequence, a documentation requirement, or a definition that distinguishes one component from another.
Pacing against the clock
With 120 minutes for 100 questions, you have roughly 72 seconds per question on average. Definition recall questions will take far less than that, which banks time for scenario-style questions that require you to think through a test procedure or interpret a documentation requirement. A sensible approach is to answer the quick recall items immediately, flag anything that demands deeper reasoning, and return to flagged items with whatever time you have banked.
Why guessing strategy still matters
The bulletin does not describe a penalty for wrong answers, but you should confirm current instructions at check-in. If no penalty applies, leaving a question blank can only hurt you. Answer everything, using elimination to improve your odds on items you are unsure about.
Where the Points Live: Domain Weights
The published Part 1 objectives divide the written exam into six domains. These weights describe the written examination only; they are official examination objectives, not curriculum headings, and they are not a combined blueprint for both portions.
| Domain | Weight | Approx. questions on a 100-item exam |
|---|---|---|
| Product performance knowledge | 14% | About 14 |
| Product installation knowledge | 12% | About 12 |
| Testing System and System Components | 36% | About 36 |
| Conducting, documenting, and recording inspections and tests | 14% | About 14 |
| General medical gas knowledge | 15% | About 15 |
| Definitions | 9% | About 9 |
The approximate question counts are simple arithmetic from the published weights applied to 100 items; the actual count in any given exam form may differ slightly. Our full domains guide covering all six content areas breaks each one down in detail.
Testing System and System Components (36%)
This is the domain that decides most outcomes. More than a third of the written exam sits here, so a weak showing can sink you even if everything else is strong.
- Understand the logic of each verification test and the order in which tests are performed
- Know the components of the system you are testing and what each is expected to do
- Be able to connect a test method to the failure it is designed to detect
- Review the relevant sections of ASSE Series 6000, NFPA 99 (2024), and NFPA 55
Conducting, Documenting, and Recording Inspections and Tests (14%)
A verifier's work product is the record. Expect questions on what must be documented, how results are captured, and what a complete record looks like.
- Know what information belongs in test documentation
- Understand how deficiencies are recorded and communicated
- Be precise about terminology used in reports
Definitions (9%)
The smallest domain is also the most reliable source of points. Definition questions reward memorization, and you can lock them in early.
- Learn the defined terms used in the referenced standards
- Distinguish similar-sounding terms that describe different components or conditions
The Practical Portion and What Is Not Published
The Part 2 practical is open book, but the open-book label can lull candidates into under-preparing. Candidates supply their own approved references, and you will be working from schematics of Category 1 distribution and source equipment. Being open book does not make it easy to find answers quickly; if you have never navigated your references under time pressure, the practical will punish you.
Two important caveats apply to anything you read online about this portion:
- The current bulletin does not publish the practical item count or time limit, so any specific figure you see should be checked against the live NITC documents.
- An older version of the bulletin describes a different practical format and a liability-insurance documentation requirement. Those details do not appear in the current bulletin or application, and the current insurance requirement remains unverified. Confirm directly with NITC before relying on either.
Why No Pass Rate Appears Here
Candidates often ask what percentage of people pass on the first attempt. In the sources reviewed for this article, no verified pass-rate figure was found, so none is given here. Any specific percentage circulating online should be treated skeptically unless it traces back to NITC itself. We discuss what is and is not known on our pass rate data page.
What you can control is your own readiness. Rather than benchmarking against an unverified statistic, benchmark against the 80% line directly: take timed practice exams, score them honestly, and do not schedule until your results clear the threshold with room to spare. Our practice test platform is built for exactly that kind of benchmarking.
Sequencing Your Prep Around the Weights
Since the written exam rewards a specific distribution of knowledge, a short sequencing plan beats an undirected read-through. The following timeline is a suggestion tied to the domain weights, not an official schedule.
Definitions and General Knowledge
- Build your vocabulary first; Definitions (9%) and General medical gas knowledge (15%) are the fastest points to secure
- Everything later builds on this terminology
Testing System and System Components
- Spend the largest block here because this domain is 36% of the written exam
- Work through ASSE Series 6000 and NFPA 99 (2024) alongside each test method
Performance, Installation, and Documentation
- Cover Product performance (14%), Product installation (12%), and Conducting, documenting, and recording inspections and tests (14%)
- Practice with schematics to prepare for the practical portion
Timed Full-Length Practice
- Simulate 100 questions in 120 minutes
- Re-study any domain scoring below 80%
For a deeper plan, our study guide for passing on your first attempt expands on resources and review methods.
Exam-Day Rules That Protect Your Score
A candidate who knows the material can still lose a result to a preventable procedural problem. NITC's policies, outlined in its rules and procedures document, include several points worth noting:
- Bring appropriate photo identification
- Personal electronic and data-transmission devices are prohibited
- Unauthorized materials are not allowed; for the open-book portions, candidates supply approved references
- Testing happens with an NITC-approved proctor at an instruction site or at a Prometric Test Center; no at-home delivery was verified
Eligibility also needs to be settled before you register. The prerequisites are at least two documented years of practical medical-gas-piping verification experience and a minimum 32-hour course from an ASSE 6050-certified instructor completed before testing. Training helps with preparation as well as eligibility; our overview of Medical Gas Verifier 6030 training explains what to look for in a course.
Fees, Retakes, and the Cost of Missing the Mark
Failing a portion has a direct financial consequence, so it is worth understanding the fee structure before you schedule. Re-examination is available at the next scheduled examination, and retest fees follow initial-exam fees.
| Delivery / Source | Per portion | Both portions |
|---|---|---|
| NITC certification page | $200 | $400 |
| Prometric computerized delivery (current application) | $265 ($200 exam + $65 processing) | $530 |
Group requests carry their own mechanics: the group request form requires submission at least three weeks before the requested examination and states computer delivery, with a $175 processing fee when fewer than 10 applicants are scheduled. According to NITC's FAQ, that below-10 processing fee does not apply when the proctor waives the proctor fee. Note that one group form lists $200 per examinee without identifying the exam portion, so rely on the certification page's explicit per-portion pricing rather than assuming $200 covers both portions.
Training and travel costs are separate from examination fees. For the full financial picture, see our complete pricing breakdown.
Key Takeaway
Treat each portion as a separate, paid attempt. Scoring below 80% on either portion means paying again for that portion at the next scheduled exam, so the most economical strategy is to be over-prepared the first time rather than to use the exam as a diagnostic.
The Lower Renewal Threshold
Once you pass, your certification is valid for three years. Renewal is a different experience from initial certification. It requires at least four hours of NFPA 99 update training taught by an ASSE 6050-certified instructor, plus a proctored open-book exam of 40 questions in two hours, with a passing score of 30 correct (75%). The renewal references are ASSE Series 6000 (2021) and NFPA 99 (2024), and the current Prometric renewal fee is $120. A separate group-renewal form lists $60 per applicant plus a $175 processing fee below 10 applicants, subject to the proctor-fee waiver condition noted above.
There is one trap worth knowing about. You may recertify within 12 months after expiry, but that allowance does not extend your certified status during the gap. After that year passes, you must sit the original exam again, and the published 21-day processing period should be built into your timeline. Planning renewal early avoids a lapse. If you are weighing the long-term value of keeping the credential current, our analyses of earnings and whether the certification is worth it can help.
Frequently Asked Questions
You need 80 correct answers out of 100 multiple-choice questions, which is 80%. The exam is closed book and allows 120 minutes. The scored versus unscored split is not stated in the published bulletin.
The live NITC certification page requires 80% on each portion. The practical is an open-book exam using supplied Category 1 schematics, but the current bulletin does not publish its item count or time limit, so confirm those details with NITC.
Testing System and System Components, at 36% of the written exam. It is the largest domain by a wide margin, so weakness there makes an 80% result very difficult even with strong scores elsewhere.
Renewal uses a proctored open-book exam of 40 questions in two hours, and you need 30 correct (75%). It also requires at least four hours of NFPA 99 update training from an ASSE 6050-certified instructor. Certification is valid for three years.
Re-examination is available at the next scheduled examination, and retest fees follow initial-exam fees. Because the portions are priced separately, you only need to retake the portion you did not pass. Review the weakest domains before rescheduling, and practice on the main practice test site until your timed scores consistently clear 80%.