- What This Cheat Sheet Covers (and What It Doesn't)
- Identity Check: Who Issues the Credential
- Exam Format at a Glance: Two Portions, Two Passing Standards
- Part 1 Domain Weights and What Each Demands
- The 36% Domain: Testing System and System Components
- Reference Documents to Know
- Eligibility, Fees and Logistics
- Exam-Day Rules and Retakes
- Renewal and Lapse Rules
- Who Hires Verifiers
- A Domain-Ordered Review Plan
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Part 1 is 100 multiple-choice questions in 120 minutes, closed book, with 80 correct (80%) required to pass.
- Testing System and System Components is the largest written domain at 36%, so it deserves the biggest share of your review time.
- Full certification also requires an open-book practical portion using supplied schematics, and 80% is required on each portion.
- Prerequisites are two documented years of verification experience plus a 32-hour course from an ASSE 6050-certified instructor before testing.
What This Cheat Sheet Covers (and What It Doesn't)
This is a condensed reference for the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 credential: the written-exam weights, format numbers, eligibility rules, fee mechanics, renewal terms and the topic clusters that matter most. It is built for the final review stretch, when you already have the material and need a single place to check the numbers you must not get wrong.
It is not a substitute for learning the content. If you are earlier in the process, start with the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 study guide and then come back to use this page as a checklist. Where a detail is not published in the sources reviewed (the pass rate, the practical item count, the practical time limit), this sheet says so rather than guessing.
Identity Check: Who Issues the Credential
The governing body is the National Inspection, Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC). ASSE 6030 is the qualification standard the certification is built around; it is not a separate issuer. When you see "6030" in a job posting, a bid specification or a state requirement, it refers to this medical gas verifier qualification, and the certificate itself comes through NITC.
The official exam outline lives in the NITC Candidate Information Bulletin for Certification Examinations, Exhibit #2 (Rev 07-09-26), section IV. Important nuance: the six domain lines and their weights describe Part 1, the initial written examination. They are official examination objectives, not curriculum headings, and they are not a combined blueprint covering both portions. For more on what the credential is and how it is framed, see What Is Medical Gas Verifier 6030?
Exam Format at a Glance: Two Portions, Two Passing Standards
Full certification has two parts, and candidates sometimes confuse them. The table below separates what is published from what is not.
| Item | Part 1: Written | Part 2: Practical |
|---|---|---|
| Format | 100 multiple-choice questions | Open-book, using supplied schematics of Category 1 medical-gas/vacuum distribution and source equipment |
| Time | 120 minutes | Not published in the current bulletin |
| Reference access | Closed book | Open book; candidates supply approved references |
| Passing standard | 80 correct (80%) | 80% (per the certification page) |
| Item count | 100 | Not published in the current bulletin |
| Scored/unscored split | Not stated | Not stated |
The practical is the part that punishes candidates who only memorized facts. Because it is open book but schematic-driven, the skill being tested is reading a drawing, locating components and applying code requirements to what you see. Details on the score threshold are in Medical Gas Verifier 6030 Passing Score.
Part 1 Domain Weights and What Each Demands
The written exam is divided into six domains. Use the weights to prioritize, not to skip anything: a 9% domain still represents roughly nine questions on a 100-question test, and with an 80% passing line you can only afford 20 misses overall.
| Domain | Weight | Core emphasis |
|---|---|---|
| Product performance knowledge | 14% | How materials, components and equipment are expected to perform |
| Product installation knowledge | 12% | Proper installation practices for piping and components |
| Testing System and System Components | 36% | The tests themselves and the components being tested |
| Conducting, documenting, and recording inspections and tests | 14% | Procedure order, record-keeping, reporting |
| General medical gas knowledge | 15% | Gases, systems and healthcare-facility context |
| Definitions | 9% | Code and standards terminology |
The percentages sum to 100. For a domain-by-domain breakdown of what each area looks like in practice, see the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 exam domains guide.
Product performance knowledge (14%)
Expect questions on how products and system elements are supposed to behave in service, not just what they are called.
- Know the intended function of components you will encounter during verification.
- Be able to distinguish acceptable from unacceptable product characteristics.
- Tie performance expectations back to the governing standards.
Product installation knowledge (12%)
This domain tests whether you can recognize correct installation, since verifiers are the ones checking someone else's work.
- Think like an inspector: what would a correct installation look like, and what are the common deviations?
- Connect installation practices to the standards you will be asked to apply on the job.
Conducting, documenting, and recording inspections and tests (14%)
Verification is a documentation discipline as much as a technical one. A test that is not properly recorded is, for practical purposes, a test that did not happen.
- Understand the sequence and purpose of each inspection and test.
- Know what must be recorded and why.
- Be ready for scenario questions about what to do when results are out of range.
General medical gas knowledge (15%) and Definitions (9%)
Together these account for nearly a quarter of the written exam, and they are the most "learnable" points available. Definition questions reward precise recall of standards terminology, so build flashcards from the definitions sections of your reference documents.
The 36% Domain: Testing System and System Components
This is the single biggest lever on your written score. At 36%, it alone is worth roughly 36 of the 100 questions, which is more than any two other domains combined except General medical gas knowledge plus Product performance knowledge.
Because the published outline names the domain in terms of both the testing of the system and its components, plan to master two linked skill sets:
- The testing side: what each verification test is designed to prove, in what order tests are performed, and what a passing result looks like.
- The components side: the pieces of a medical gas and vacuum system you will be testing, and how their condition or configuration affects test outcomes.
The practical portion draws on the same knowledge applied to schematics, so time invested here pays off twice. A candidate who can look at a Category 1 distribution drawing and say what needs to be tested, in what order and against what requirement is prepared for both parts.
Key Takeaway
Do not treat the 36% domain as one block. Break it into individual tests and component types, and be able to explain each in a sentence. If you can only recognize terms but cannot describe their purpose, scenario questions will expose it.
Reference Documents to Know
The official references for Part 1 are:
- ASSE Series 6000
- NFPA 99 (2024). The application explicitly requests the 2024 edition, so make sure the copy you study matches.
- NFPA 55
The bulletin's qualification section also mentions CGA M-1, but it is not separately listed in Part 1's reference list. Treat it as useful background rather than a core exam source.
For the open-book practical, candidates supply their own approved references. Tab them in advance so you spend exam time applying requirements, not hunting for them. Using an outdated edition is a risk worth avoiding entirely.
Eligibility, Fees and Logistics
Prerequisites
- At least two documented years of practical medical-gas-piping verification experience.
- A minimum 32-hour course from an ASSE 6050-certified instructor, completed before testing.
- No degree requirement is stated.
Experience documentation is flexible. The current application accepts employer letters, employment history, certification records, state licenses or other employment records that substantiate your experience. If you use an employer testimonial letter, it must be on company letterhead, describe duties and dates, include W-2 forms, and provide verification phone numbers. A W-2-backed employer letter is one accepted route, not the only one. The full breakdown is in Medical Gas Verifier 6030 Requirements.
Fees
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Live certification page: both portions | $400 |
| Live certification page: per portion | $200 |
| Prometric computerized delivery: per portion ($200 exam + $65 processing) | $265 |
| Prometric computerized delivery: both portions | $530 |
| Group request form: per examinee (portion not identified on the form) | $200 |
| Group processing fee when fewer than 10 applicants are scheduled | $175 |
Note the distinction on the group form: it lists $200 per examinee without identifying the exam portion, so do not read that as the price for both initial portions. The certification page and application make clear that $200 is per portion. The $175 below-10 processing fee does not apply when the proctor waives the proctor fee, per NITC's FAQ. Group requests must be submitted at least three weeks before the requested examination and state computer delivery. No member versus nonmember price split was identified, and training and travel costs are separate from exam fees. For budgeting, see the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 certification cost breakdown.
Delivery
Testing is through an NITC-approved proctor at an instruction site or at a Prometric Test Center. At-home delivery was not verified, so do not plan on it. Scheduling windows and deadlines are covered in Medical Gas Verifier 6030 Exam Dates.
Exam-Day Rules and Retakes
- Photo ID: appropriate photo identification is required.
- Devices: personal electronic and data-transmission devices are prohibited.
- Materials: unauthorized materials are prohibited. In the open-book practical, you bring only approved references.
- Retakes: re-examination is available at the next scheduled examination, and retest fees follow initial-exam fees.
Because each portion carries its own 80% requirement, a miss on one portion means retesting that portion, and the fee schedule above is the guide to what that costs. Policy details are in NITC Rules and Procedures (WI 7.2-06).
Renewal and Lapse Rules
Certification is valid for three years. Renewal is its own mini-process:
- Complete at least four hours of NFPA 99 update training taught by an ASSE 6050-certified instructor.
- Pass a proctored, open-book, 40-question, two-hour examination with 30 correct (75%).
The current Prometric renewal fee is $120. The separate group-renewal request form lists $60 per applicant plus a $175 processing fee below 10 applicants, subject to the proctor-fee waiver qualification noted in the FAQ. Renewal references are ASSE Series 6000 (2021) and NFPA 99 (2024). Note that the renewal references cite the 2021 edition of ASSE Series 6000, which differs from how some candidates assume editions line up, so check before you study.
Who Hires Verifiers
Verification is performed by independent third parties, not by the installer of record, which is why the credential matters to a specific set of employers:
- Medical gas installation and service contractors that need qualified verification personnel on staff or on call.
- Independent testing and verification firms that specialize in third-party verification of new and modified systems.
- Healthcare facilities and health systems whose facilities or engineering teams oversee medical gas and vacuum infrastructure.
- Mechanical and plumbing contractors that work on healthcare construction and renovation projects.
Compensation varies widely by region and employer, and no verified figure is cited here. For a qualitative look at earnings and career prospects, see the salary guide, the jobs overview and the ROI analysis.
A Domain-Ordered Review Plan
If you have roughly four weeks, sequence your review by exam weight and by dependency. The logic: definitions and general knowledge give you the vocabulary that every later domain relies on, so front-load them, then give the heaviest domain the most days.
Vocabulary and general knowledge
- Build flashcards from the definitions sections of your reference documents (Definitions, 9%).
- Review general medical gas knowledge (15%) and the structure of NFPA 99 (2024).
Products and installation
- Cover product performance (14%) and installation (12%) from an inspector's viewpoint.
- Note the standards cited for each requirement.
Testing System and System Components (36%)
- Work through each test and component type; explain each aloud.
- Practice reading Category 1 schematics to prepare for the open-book practical.
Documentation, then full-length practice
- Review conducting, documenting and recording inspections and tests (14%).
- Take timed 100-question practice sets within a 120-minute limit and review every miss against the references.
You can drill timed sets on the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 practice test platform, and a fuller approach to preparation is in the study guide. The training overview explains how the required 32-hour course fits into your timeline.
Frequently Asked Questions
Part 1 has 100 multiple-choice questions with a 120-minute time limit, closed book. You need 80 correct (80%) to pass. The scored versus unscored split is not stated in the bulletin. The practical portion's item count and time limit are not published in the current bulletin.
Testing System and System Components, at 36% of Part 1. The remaining weights are General medical gas knowledge 15%, Product performance knowledge 14%, Conducting, documenting, and recording inspections and tests 14%, Product installation knowledge 12%, and Definitions 9%.
Two documented years of practical medical-gas-piping verification experience and a minimum 32-hour course from an ASSE 6050-certified instructor, completed before testing. Experience can be documented through employer letters, employment history, certification records, state licenses or other employment records. See the requirements guide for specifics.
The live certification page lists $400 for both portions or $200 per portion. The current application lists Prometric computerized delivery at $265 per portion ($200 exam plus $65 processing), or $530 for both. Training and travel are separate costs. The cost breakdown covers the details.
Certification is valid for three years. Renewal requires at least four hours of NFPA 99 update training from an ASSE 6050-certified instructor plus a proctored open-book exam of 40 questions in two hours, with 30 correct (75%) to pass. You may recertify within 12 months after expiry, but that does not extend certified status, and after that year the original exam is required.