- What the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 Credential Actually Is
- Who Governs It and Why ASSE 6030 Matters
- Eligibility: Experience and the 32-Hour Course
- Two Parts, Two Passing Scores
- Part 1 Content: The Six Written Domains
- Part 2: The Open-Book Practical
- Registration and Fee Mechanics
- Exam-Day Rules and Retakes
- Three-Year Validity and Renewal
- Who Needs This Credential
- Sequencing Your Preparation
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Medical Gas Verifier 6030 certification is administered by NITC, with ASSE 6030 serving as the qualification standard.
- Full certification requires two portions: a 100-question written exam and an open-book practical using supplied schematics.
- Candidates need two documented years of verification experience plus a 32-hour course from an ASSE 6050-certified instructor.
- Testing System and System Components is the largest written domain at 36%.
What the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 Credential Actually Is
The Medical Gas Verifier 6030 credential certifies that a person is qualified to verify medical gas and vacuum piping systems: the independent check that a newly installed, extended, or modified system performs and is documented as the codes require. It is not an installer credential, and it is not a general facilities-management certificate. The verifier's job is to inspect, test, and attest to what someone else built, which is why the exam leans heavily on testing procedures, documentation, and code knowledge rather than on brazing technique or pipe-fitting skill.
If you are comparing terminology, our pages on what Medical Gas Verifier 6030 is and the meaning of the credential cover the vocabulary in more depth. This article focuses on the certification itself: who issues it, what it demands, how the exam is structured, and how the process works from application to renewal.
Who Governs It and Why ASSE 6030 Matters
Certification is administered by the National Inspection, Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC). The ASSE 6030 standard defines the qualifications for medical gas verifiers, and NITC's program is how candidates demonstrate they meet that standard. The practical consequence for you: your application, exam scheduling, fees, rules, and renewal all run through NITC's documents, not through a separate ASSE application.
Eligibility: Experience and the 32-Hour Course
Two prerequisites gate the exam. First, you need at least two documented years of practical medical-gas-piping verification experience. Second, you must complete a minimum 32-hour course from an ASSE 6050-certified instructor before you test. No degree requirement is stated.
Documenting your experience
The current application accepts several kinds of substantiation, including employer letters, employment history, certification records, state licenses, and other employment records. If you use employer testimonial letters, they must be on company letterhead, describe your duties and dates, include W-2 forms, and provide verification phone numbers. W-2-backed employer letters are one accepted route, not the only one, so if your work history is unusual (for example, you moved between employers or worked through contractors), look at the other documentation categories before assuming you are ineligible.
For a fuller breakdown of how to qualify, see our guide to Medical Gas Verifier 6030 requirements, and for what the course involves, see Medical Gas Verifier 6030 training.
Two Parts, Two Passing Scores
The single most common misunderstanding about this credential is treating it as one exam. Full certification has two portions, and the live NITC certification page requires 80% on each.
| Feature | Part 1: Written | Part 2: Practical |
|---|---|---|
| Format | 100 multiple-choice questions | Open-book, using supplied schematics |
| Time | 120 minutes | Not published in the current bulletin |
| Reference materials | Closed book | Open book (candidates supply approved references) |
| Passing standard | 80 correct (80%) | 80% per the live certification page |
| Subject matter | Six weighted domains | Category 1 medical-gas/vacuum distribution and source equipment schematics |
Notice what the current bulletin does not publish: the practical's item count and time limit. Older versions of NITC's candidate bulletin circulate online and state different figures, but the current documents do not support those numbers, so do not plan around them. Ask your proctor or check the latest bulletin when you schedule.
On the written portion, the bulletin does not state how many of the 100 questions are scored versus unscored, so you should prepare for all of them to count. If you want to understand what the 80% threshold means in practice, our page on the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 passing score walks through it, and the pass rate article explains why no reliable pass-rate figure exists in the sources we reviewed.
Part 1 Content: The Six Written Domains
The Part 1 outline lists six domains with published weights. These describe the written exam only; they are official examination objectives, not curriculum headings and not a combined blueprint for both portions.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Domain 1: Product performance knowledge | 14% |
| Domain 2: Product installation knowledge | 12% |
| Domain 3: Testing System and System Components | 36% |
| Domain 4: Conducting, documenting, and recording inspections and tests | 14% |
| Domain 5: General medical gas knowledge | 15% |
| Domain 6: Definitions | 9% |
Domain 3: Testing System and System Components (36%)
This is the largest slice of the written exam, and it is the heart of what a verifier does. More than a third of your score rides on it.
- Know the sequence and purpose of the verification tests applied to a new or modified system.
- Understand how system components are checked, not just what they are.
- Be ready to reason about test conditions and what a result means, not merely recite steps.
Domain 4: Conducting, documenting, and recording inspections and tests (14%)
Verification is only valuable if it is recorded correctly. Expect questions on what must be documented, how records are kept, and what a complete test record looks like.
Domains 1, 2, 5, and 6
Product performance and installation knowledge (14% and 12%) test whether you understand how medical gas products and installations are supposed to function and be built, because you cannot verify what you do not understand. General medical gas knowledge (15%) covers the broader field. Definitions (9%) is the smallest domain but rewards precision: codes use terms in specific ways, and a question may hinge on exact wording.
Official references for Part 1 are the ASSE Series 6000 standards, NFPA 99 (2024), and NFPA 55. The application specifically calls for NFPA 99-2024, so make sure you study the current edition and not an older copy. The bulletin's qualification section also mentions CGA M-1, though it is not separately listed in Part 1's reference list. For a domain-by-domain walkthrough, see our complete guide to all six content areas.
Part 2: The Open-Book Practical
The practical examination is open book and uses supplied schematics of Category 1 medical-gas and vacuum distribution and source equipment. Candidates bring their own approved references. That sounds easier than a closed-book test, and candidates sometimes underestimate it for exactly that reason.
Open book changes what is being measured. You will not be rewarded for memorizing a table, because you can look it up; you will be measured on whether you can find the right provision quickly, read a schematic accurately, and apply a requirement to a specific arrangement of source equipment and distribution piping. Candidates who have not practiced navigating their reference material under time pressure tend to lose time searching.
Registration and Fee Mechanics
Fees are the area where confusion is most common, because several documents list different numbers for different delivery methods and group arrangements. Here is how the current figures fit together.
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Initial exam per the live certification page | $200 per portion, or $400 for both |
| Prometric computerized delivery (per current application) | $265 per portion ($200 exam plus $65 processing); $530 for both |
| Group request form, per examinee | $200, with $175 group processing if fewer than 10 applicants |
| Renewal, Prometric | $120 |
A few cautions. The group request form states $200 per examinee without identifying which portion that covers, so do not read it as the price for both initial portions; the certification page and application distinguish $200 per portion. The below-10 group processing fee does not apply when the proctor waives the proctor fee, per NITC's Medical Gas FAQ. Group requests must be submitted at least three weeks before the requested examination date. Training and travel costs are separate from exam fees, and no member versus nonmember price split was identified.
Testing is delivered by an NITC-approved proctor at an instruction site or at a Prometric test center. No at-home delivery was verified. For a fuller cost picture, including the course, see our certification cost breakdown, and for timing, see exam dates and scheduling.
Exam-Day Rules and Retakes
- Bring appropriate photo identification.
- Personal electronic and data-transmission devices are prohibited.
- Unauthorized materials are prohibited; for open-book portions, you supply approved references.
- If you do not pass a portion, re-examination is available at the next scheduled examination, with retest fees following the initial-exam fees.
The retake policy is forgiving in structure, but each attempt costs money, which is one more reason to treat the first attempt seriously. Our difficulty guide discusses where candidates tend to struggle.
Three-Year Validity and Renewal
Certification is valid for three years. Renewal is not a paperwork exercise: it requires at least four hours of NFPA 99 update training taught by an ASSE 6050-certified instructor, plus a proctored open-book exam of 40 questions in two hours, with 30 correct (75%) needed to pass. Renewal references are ASSE Series 6000 (2021) and NFPA 99 (2024). The current Prometric renewal fee is $120; a separate group-renewal form lists $60 per applicant plus a $175 processing fee for fewer than 10 applicants, subject to the proctor-fee waiver noted above.
Key Takeaway
You may recertify within 12 months after expiry, but that allowance does not extend your certified status in the meantime. After that year, you must take the original exam again, and the published 21-day processing period needs to be factored into your timeline. Schedule renewal well before expiration.
Who Needs This Credential
Medical gas verification sits at the intersection of construction and healthcare. The people who tend to pursue the credential are those whose work involves checking and certifying medical gas and vacuum systems: independent verification firms, mechanical and medical gas contractors who build out verification capability, and facility personnel responsible for systems in healthcare buildings. Because verification is an independent check, employers value documented, third-party-recognized qualification.
We do not publish salary figures here because no reliable number is available in the sources behind this article. If you are weighing the investment, our pages on Medical Gas Verifier 6030 jobs, the salary guide, and whether the credential is worth it discuss the career side in more detail.
Sequencing Your Preparation
Because the credential has two portions with different formats, your preparation should too. One short, domain-driven sequence works well for most candidates, and it follows directly from the weights above.
Definitions and general knowledge
- Build vocabulary first (Domain 6, 9%) so later reading is faster.
- Cover general medical gas knowledge (Domain 5, 15%) from NFPA 99 (2024) and NFPA 55.
Testing, the 36% domain
- Spend the most time on Domain 3, since it is the largest share of the written score.
- Pair each test with the standard that requires it and what its result means.
Documentation, products, installation
- Cover Domains 1, 2, and 4: product performance, installation, and record-keeping.
Practical readiness
- Tab your references and practice finding provisions against sample schematics.
- Take timed written practice questions.
For a deeper plan, see our study guide and the one-page cheat sheet. When you are ready to test your recall under realistic conditions, try the Medical Gas Verifier 6030 practice tests to see which domains need more work.
Frequently Asked Questions
The National Inspection, Testing and Certification Corporation (NITC) administers the certification. ASSE 6030 is the qualification standard, not a separate issuer, so applications and exams go through NITC.
Part 1 has 100 multiple-choice questions in 120 minutes, closed book, and 80 correct answers (80%) are required to pass. The scored versus unscored split is not stated.
Yes. Part 2 is an open-book practical using supplied schematics of Category 1 medical-gas and vacuum distribution and source equipment. The current bulletin does not publish its item count or time limit, and the live certification page requires 80% on each portion.
At least two documented years of practical medical-gas-piping verification experience and a minimum 32-hour course from an ASSE 6050-certified instructor completed before testing. No degree requirement is stated.
It is valid for three years. Renewal requires at least four hours of NFPA 99 update training from an ASSE 6050-certified instructor and a proctored open-book exam of 40 questions in two hours, with 30 correct (75%) to pass.
The live certification page lists $200 per portion or $400 for both. The current application lists Prometric computerized delivery at $265 per portion or $530 for both. Training and travel are separate, so verify current figures with NITC before registering.